Rise & Shine Sweet Potato Hash

Rise and shine! I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend. The sun is shining and it is a beautiful day here in Los Angeles.

This morning, I decided to treat myself to a yummy sweet potato hash before heading to the Hollywood Farmers market where I picked up some goodies for my roasted chicken tonight đŸ™‚

20130714-133331.jpg

My hearty paleo breakfast had me feeling ready to take on the day, which is great, because I have about 10 loads of laundry with my name on it đŸ˜‰

Ingredients (2 servings)

  • 1 large sweet potato (diced into 1/2 inch cubes)
  • 1/2 red or yellow bell pepper (diced)
  • 1 scallion (diced)
  • 1/4 yellow onion
  • 1 garlic clove (minced)
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil

Directions

1) Heat the coconut oil in a frying pan and add the sweet potato, bell peppers and garlic. Cover with a lid and cook for approximately 5 minutes.

2) Next, add the onion, scallions, basil, oregano, salt and pepper. Mix well, cover and cook for an additional 5 minutes or until the sweet potato is tender (stir occasionally).

3) Lastly, serve and enjoy with your favorite protein. I like to mix in some sauteed chorizo and pair it with 2 fried eggs and some fruit. Delish!

Note: This hash also reheats nicely if you need a quick breakfast the next day.

20130714-133340.jpg

Leave a Reply

