Paleo Travel Snacks: your guide to cavel girl eating on the road

Happy Hump Day Blogosphere!

Hopefully your day was less clumsy than mine. While making breakfast I gracefully spilled/launched a jar of coconut oil across my kitchen! Oil EVERYWHERE! 😥

When I got home from work – after attempting to get rid of the layer of oil covering my kitchen – I prepped for a business trip to San Diego. That’s right folks, I have the pleasure of attending the one and only Comic-Con again this year! Can you sense the sarcasm? 😉

If you follow the paleo lifestyle, you know traveling can be a little stressful. It’s a true test to your self discipline and ability to plan ahead. Luckily, I had a few weeks to think of what I could/would be able to bring with me knowing I will not have access to a refrigerator, I will be working 12-16 hour days and most of our meals will consist of what we can get when we can get it. Hopefully, I will be able to find some paleo options, but I want to be prepared for the worst so I don’t have any “mishaps.”

Recently, I’ve been trying to follow a low carb diet (limiting my fruit consumption to only post-WOD), however, since fruits travel well, I’m going to loosen up the reins a bit for the next three days.

I’ve mapped out my paleo Comic-Con survival kit below:

1) Fruit – Bananas, Apples & a pear
2) Apple Sauce
3) Paleo Bars (purchased at my crossfit gym)
4) Beet Chips & Kale Chips (purchased at the Hollywood Farmers Market)
5) Canned Tuna in Olive Oil
6) Bell Peppers
7) Protein Shake
8) Paleo Jerkey & Cookies (purchased from Evolve Foods)
9) Almond Butter & Macadamia Butter
10) Macadamia Nuts
11) Balsamic Vinegar (to dress my salads)

20130717-235817.jpg

And since I have to be up at 5am (holy fudge!), I made some of Michelle Tam’s Prosciutto-Wrapped Mini Frittata Muffins to eat for breakfast on the train 🙂

20130717-235827.jpg

Nom Nom Paleo Prosciutto-Wrapped Mini Frittata Muffins Recipe:
http://nomnompaleo.com/post/7486819479/prosciutto-wrapped-mini-frittata-muffins

May the force be with me!

20130717-235843.jpg

2 responses to “Paleo Travel Snacks: your guide to cavel girl eating on the road

Leave a Reply

