Whole30 – Day 6

TGIF Blogosphere!

Today is day 6 of my Whole30 and I’m feeling pretty darn good 🙂 Since I’ve been following a relatively strict paleo diet for the last 3 months, I haven’t been experiencing any of the hangover symptoms that many experience the first week.

With that being said, I’ve been a little tired, and it’s because I’m only getting 6-7 hours of sleep :/ Sleep is definitely an area that I need to improve on. I usually have no trouble getting the 8 hours on the weekend, but when Monday rolls around everything goes to hell.

When I was first looking into the Whole30 challenge, I didn’t see what the big deal was about weighing yourself. From my experience with eating paleo, I know that your weight (on the scale) will fluctuate, and at times, it can be extremely frustrating. I mean, if you’re not cheating AND you’re doing crossfit 5 days a week…what the heck is the problem!?

Then I read (somewhere on the Whole30 site) that when we look at the scale and we see an unsatisfying number, we immediately start to think we need to eat less and/or we need to workout more. We don’t think to ourselves, “Hey, maybe I need to get more sleep!” This has definitely been the case for me in the past, so I’ve decided not to weigh myself and commit to following ALL of the Whole30 rules. If you choose to make modifications and excuses, you can’t expect to have the amazing results that come from hard work and dedication. They said it would be worth it, but they never said it would be easy 😉

Therefore, SLEEP is going to be my main focus for week 2. Wish me luck…yawn!

whole30-6

PRE-WOD: Hard boiled egg and a few macadamia nuts

BREAKFAST: 2 eggs and 1 egg white with butternut squash hash, lean ground beef and 1 cup of mixed fruit (strawberries, blueberries & orange)

*I made two servings of the butternut squash hash Wednesday night so all I would have to do Thursday and Friday morning after my WOD was cook the eggs and zap the hash. Check out Day 5 if you want to see a photo 🙂

I started a new job on August 12th and they provide catered lunches every Monday and Friday. I was really excited about this new work perk, until I sadly realized most of the meals provided were about as far from “paleo” as you can get (Pizza, Indian Food, El Pollo Loco, etc.). HOWEVER, today they delivered Togo’s (sandwich platters, salads, veggie platters and fruit platters) and I was able to put together the glorious random paleo plate below. It wasn’t the best meal I’ve ever had, but it was free and got me through the day 😉

LUNCH: A few pieces of deli meat (turkey, ham & roast beef) with a little mustard, chinese chicken salad (chicken, cabbage, carrots & sesame seeds) with some balsamic vinegar I keep at work, mixed veggies (carrots, celery, tomatoes, bell peppers and mushrooms) and a few pieces of pineapple

20130906-130255.jpg

SNACK: Banana Bread Lara Bar and 1 cup of mixed berries I saved from lunch

20130906-144611.jpg

DINNER: Salad (white chicken meat, lettuce, avacado, carrots, bell peppers and tomatoes) with salsa verde from California Chicken Cafe and a cup of grapes for dessert

20130906-211749.jpg

Evaluation: I overdid it on the fruit today. Tomorrow I will focus on only having 1-2 servings.

One response to “Whole30 – Day 6

  1. Pingback: Sunday Shopping Ritual | Confessions of a Wannabe Cave Girl·

Leave a Reply

