Good Ole Southern Salmon Patties

Don’t let the name “Salmon Patty” fool you, I promise they are quite tasty!

Salmon patties are a classic southern dish that I grew up eating and they always remind me of my childhood (I used to love crushing the saltines lol).

My mom usually served them with canned spinach and Kraft macaroni and cheese. Very tasty, but not very healthy. Therefore, I decided to make a paleo version, but as I should have guessed, there are already a TON of paleo versions out there!

Below is the recipe I adapted from a few I saw on pinterest:

Ingredients (Serves 2):

  • 1 Can of Wild Red Alaskan Salmon (7oz)
  • 1/4 Cup Almond flour
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 TSP Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 TSP Sea Salt
  • 2 TBSP Olive Oil
Instructions: 
  • Remove the skin and bones from the can of salmon (yuck!) and mix in the almond flour, garlic powder, egg and sea salt.
  • Heat the oil in a skillet while you form the salmon mixture into 2 patties.
  • Add the patties to the skillet and cook for about 4-5 minutes on each side until golden brown.

I was exhausted last night so I just enjoyed my patty with a can of spinach and apple cider vinegar, but I’d recommend serving them with some avocado, broccoli and maybe even some steamed squash.

I ate the second patty for breakfast with some fresh sautéed spinach, butternut squash and a fried egg.

It was beyond 🙂

20131004-134000.jpg

One response to “Good Ole Southern Salmon Patties

  1. Pingback: Sunday Shopping Ritual | Confessions of a Wannabe Cave Girl·

Leave a Reply

