Sunday Shopping Ritual

After 5 days of what I thought would be glorious non-paleo eating, I actually glad to be back on my second challenge!

The foods I thought I missed ended up leaving me feeling bloated, with headaches and worst of all…feeling guilty! My reintroduction faze will definitely be different the second time around since I don’t plan on having another challenge lined up and I know how my body will react ūüėČ

My second challenge started on Sunday and goes until November 10th. It is pretty much the same as the Whole30, but we got our body fast tested and did a WOD (The Filthy Fifty) so we can compare our performance before and after. Things definitely seem easier this time around.

I’ve mentioned before that I take Sundays to plan out my meals for the week and do my grocery shopping. I find this to be an extremely helpful routine, therefore, I’ve decided to document what I purchased at the store this weekend and my meal plan for the week.

Paleolist_zps6bcbadaa

PROTEIN:

12oz Grass-Fed Rib Eye Steak (2 servings)

24oz Ground White Turkey Breast

2 Organic Chicken Breasts

8 Chicken Drumsticks

3oz Wild Atlantic Smoked Salmon

1 7oz Can of Wild Red Atlantic Salmon

1 Package of Applegate Sunday Bacon

1 Dozen Pastured Eggs

VEGETABLES:

Red Swiss Chard

Asparagus

Brussels Sprouts

Zucchinis

Carrots

*Celery

*Cherry Tomatoes

Red Onion

Yellow Onion

Avocados

Bell Peppers

Sweet Potato

*Acorn Squash

*Spinach

Cauliflower

*Broccoli

Scallions

Garlic

Shallot

FRUIT:

*Grapes

Ruby Grapefruit

*Granny Smith Apples

MISC:

Bubblies Sauerkraut

Marinated Red Peppers

Pitted Kamala Olives

Capers

Sun Dried Tomatoes

Almond Flower

*Organic

20131008-113807.jpg

Next, I’ve included my meal plan for the week:

SUNDAY:

*Went grocery shopping
LUNCH: 6oz grilled chicken breast with sautéed swiss chard, mushrooms and onions 
SNACK: 1 bell pepper and 1 1/2 cup of grapes
DINNER: 6oz grass-fed ribeye steak, 1 cup steamed squash, sautéed asparagus & 1/2 avocado

MONDAY

BREAKFAST: 3 eggs, butternut squash hash with mixed veggies (spinach, onion, mushrooms, brussels sprouts) & 1/2 cup grapes
LUNCH: Leftover 6oz grass-fed ribeye steak, asparagus, roasted cauliflower, 1/2 avocado & 1/2 cup grapes
SNACK: Lox, hard boiled egg & veggies (carrot, celery, cauliflower, tomatoes)
DINNER: Mediterranean Turkey Burger, spinach & sweet potato fries
Prep–> Marinate chicken drumsticks for the next day
TUESDAY
POST-WOD: Protein Shake & 1 banana
BREAKFAST: 1 applegate sausage and leftover butternut squash hash with mixed veggies (spinach, onion, mushrooms, brussels sprouts)
LUNCH: Leftover mediterranean turkey burger, spinach &  avocado + 1/2 pomegranate  
SNACK: Lox, 2 hard boiled eggs & veggies (carrot, celery, cauliflower, tomatoes)
DINNER: Damn Fine Chicken Drumsticks, acorn squash and brussels sprouts sautéed with bacon 
WEDNESDAY
POST-WOD: Protein Shake
BREAKFAST: 2 eggs, bacon & 1/2 grape fruit
LUNCH: Leftover Damn Fine Chicken Drumsticks, acorn squash and brussels sprouts sautéed with bacon + 1/2 pomegranate
SNACK: Apple & 2 tbsp almond butter
DINNER: Turkey Meatballs & zucchini noodles with mushrooms and onion
THURSDAY
POST-WOD: Protein Shake
BREAKFAST: 2 eggs, bacon & 1/2 grape fruit
LUNCH: Leftover Turkey Meatballs & zucchini noodles with mushrooms and onion
SNACK: 4oz grilled chicken & spinach salad
DINNER: Salmon Patty, roasted acorn squash & broccoli
FRIDAY
POST-WOD: Protein Shake
BREAKFAST: 2 scrambled eggs, leftover salmon patty & broccoli
LUNCH: Chipotle salad bowl with carnitas, tomatoes and guacamole (no dressing)
SNACK: Apple & 2 tbsp almond butter
My weeks don’t always go EXACTLY as planned, but it’s good to have an idea what what I will be making and what I will need to cook eat night. Hopefully, this insight to my weekly routine will help you perfect yours ūüôā
Leave a Reply

